Saudi Premium Residency for Entrepreneurs and Investors: Is It Worth It?
Last updated: 30 Oct 2026
Saudi Premium Residency lets a foreigner live in the Kingdom without an employer sponsor and gives the right to do business and own property. For some people that is exactly what they need. For others, a normal investment licence does the job. Here is the verdict first, then the details.
Quick answer
Verdict: Worth it if you want to run or invest in a business in Saudi Arabia in your own right, own property, or move your family without depending on an employer, and you meet a product’s criteria. Probably not worth it if you only want to own a company from abroad: MISA investment registration covers that, and it does not need residency.
Saudi Premium Residency at a glance (as of 30 Oct 2026)
- Products added in 2024: Special Talent, Gifted, Investor, Entrepreneur and Real Estate Owner (SPA, 10 Jan 2024).
- Business: holders can conduct business and own real estate.
- No sponsor: residency does not depend on an employer.
- Older products: Limited Duration and Unlimited Duration.
What Saudi Premium Residency gives you
The Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT) lists these general benefits for holders:
Official benefits (MCIT)
- Residency for family members
- The right to conduct business
- The right to own real estate
- Moving between employers without transfer fees
- Exemption from expat and dependant fees
- Leaving and re-entering the Kingdom without a visa
- Hosting relatives
The Saudi Press Agency (SPA) also said in January 2024 that the newer products let holders obtain work permits for themselves and their families.
The two business products compared
Two of the five newer products are aimed squarely at business owners. MCIT describes their extra features like this:
| Investor | Entrepreneur | |
|---|---|---|
| Who it suits | Someone putting capital into a Saudi business | A founder building a startup |
| Path to permanence | Conditional permanent residency directly | Conditional permanent residency after creating 10 jobs in year 1 and 10 more in year 2 |
| Staff | Not stated | Can nominate 2 staff for Special Talent residency |
| Saudisation (Nitaqat) | Not stated | Exempt for the first 3 operational years |
The exact eligibility rules, documents and costs are on the Premium Residency Center’s platform at pr.gov.sa. We have not quoted fees or investment amounts, because we could not confirm them on an official page.
Warning
Do not rely on fee or threshold figures from blogs or agents. Check the current terms on the Premium Residency Center platform before you apply.
Is Saudi Premium Residency worth it? The decision
Ask yourself what problem you are trying to solve.
How to decide
1
You only want to own a company: start with MISA investment registration. Residency is a separate question.
2
You want to live here and run your business yourself: Premium Residency removes the need for an employer sponsor.
3
You are founding a startup and hiring: compare the Entrepreneur product’s job conditions with your hiring plan.
4
You want property and family stability: the general benefits may matter more than any business feature.
5
Check the criteria on the official platform, then budget for the official costs shown there.
Who should skip it
If you plan to stay abroad and simply hold shares or a company, MISA’s investor guide says investment registration is the route. It does not give you residency. Read our guide on investing in Saudi Arabia from abroad for that path.
If you are on a work iqama and want to start a side business, do not use someone else’s name. That is tasattur, and it is illegal. See tasattur in Saudi Arabia.
Tip
Premium Residency and a MISA licence are not either-or. Many founders need the licence for the company and the residency for themselves.
How it fits with other routes
Our guide to running a business without a kafeel shows how Premium Residency sits next to MISA registration. For the full setup order, see how to start a business in Saudi Arabia and can a foreigner start a business in Saudi Arabia.
Note
General information, not legal advice or immigration advice. Terms change, so confirm with the Premium Residency Center or a licensed lawyer.
Official MISA and Ministry of Commerce pages
Sources and last checked
Last checked 30 Oct 2026: Saudi Press Agency, 10 January 2024 (five new Premium Residency products); MCIT Premium Residency page (benefits and product features); Premium Residency Center platform for current terms.
One Comment